Track #002: Every beginning start with a “Hello”

22 Apr

The morning birds chipping and the sun shine through the thin white curtain of Mika and Rina’s room.

<ring> <ring> <ring> <ring>

The alarm clock triggered. Mika reached her hand out and shut it off.

-[10 minutes later]-

Mika:
AAHHH!!!

-[Next]-

Both, Mika and Rina, rushed down the stairs and almost out the door.

Mika:
Late! Bye~

Mrs. Okada:
Wait!

Mika and Rina freezes.

Mrs. Okada:
You guys should eat something before head out.

Rina:
Gomen, we’re late.

Mrs. Okada:
Ok then. Have a wonderful day.

Mika and Rina:
Thanks.

They continued their way to the door. Mika poke her head in.

Mika:
I’ll be back around 4 o’clock to help with the ramen shop.

Then she ran out of the door.

-[Next]-

Mika and Rina dash to the train before the door close and they succeed.

Rina:
Yokatta~

The girls relieved a sigh and then sat down at the near by open seats.

Mika:
Ah! Your training will be over at 6, right?

Rina:
Uh. Why?

Mika:
Oh nothing. I thought you’d help me with something.

Rina:
What is it?

Mika:
Um… I was wondering… if there’s a job available at the Avex Artist Academy.

Rina:
Oh~ I don’t know… but I’ll ask around.

Mika:
Really?

Rina:
<chuckle> Yeah.

Mika:
Arigatou.

-[Next]-

Rina stood by the exist door while holding on the bar connected to the seat.

<ding>

Rina:
Bye bye~

She waved.

Mika:
Jan.

Mika waved back. Rina stepped out of the train.

<ding>

The door close once again. While the train resume, Mika and Rina waved at each other once again through the clear window.

Mika (voice over):
My name is Mika Tanaka. I turned 19 last December. My close friend, Rina and I moved to Tokyo two months ago. Both of us auditioned at Avex, Rina made it but I did not.

<ding>

The exist door opened and Mika walked out of the train.

Mika (voice over):
But it’s ok. I guess it’s not meant to be. However, I’m very happy for Rina. Becoming a singer is her long life dream. She’d always mentioned it ever since we were little.

Mika marched along the street full of people.

Mika (voice over):
Since Rina was accepted into Avex, she’s currently train at the Avex Artist Academy. How exciting. And me…

Mika scanned a pack of gum and 2 bottle of Bubble Man (Japanese soft drink) through the machine.

Mika:
$4.86 please.

She dropped the pack of gum and 2 bottles of soft drink into the bag and hand it over to the customer. Mika received the money and inserted it into the cashier.

Mika:
Arigatou.

Mika (voice over):
What about me? Nothing but the fact that I’m working at a convenience store.

She placed her elbow on the surface of the counter and her chin upon her hand and released a sigh.

Mika:
What a boring life I live in~

She pouted. Suddenly, a familar voice came from behind her.

Keito:
<chuckle> I’ve never seen anyone gave such a harsh complain before.

Mika immediately turned around and saw Keito, the guy that gave his phone number to her the other day.

Mika:
You…

Keito:
How coincidence to see you here.

He smiled. Keito dropped the items on his hand upon the counter.

Keito:
I didn’t know you work here.

Mika picked the carton of strawberry milk and scanned it.

Mika:
I just started to work here a couple weeks ago.

She picked the box of onigiri and scanned it.

Keito:
Oh, I see… How’s your friend?

Mika:
You mean Rina?

Keito:
Rina.

He whispered.

Mika:
She’s doing fine.

Mika dropped the items into the bag.

Mika and Keito:
$8.95

They both said it at the same time. Mika glazed at him.

Mika:
H-how…

Keito:
I did my math in here.

He pointed at his head.

Mika:
What a smart ass.

She talked to herself.

Keito:
Huh?

Mika:
Nothing, nothing. So do you live near here?

Keito:
Yeah, My house is right around the corner.

Mika:
Oh.

Keito:
So what are you doing after you got out of your shift?

Mika:
I have to help out at my aunt’s ramen shop. Why?

Keito:
Oh nothing.

He looked down.

Keito:
Where’s your aunt’s ramen shop?

Mika:
It’s near…

Keito:
Wait! Lemme write it down.

Mika:
Here. I’ll write it down for you.

Mika pulled the pen in the cup near by and a piece of paper and wrote the address.

Mika:
Here.

She gave it to Keito.

Keito:
I’ll visit there sometime.

Mika:
Oh ok.

Keito:
Do you mind if I bring some friends along?

Mika:
Sure.

Keito:
Ok.

Keito grabbed the bag.

Keito:
Bye.

Mika:
Bye.

Keito pushed the door and stepped out.

Mika:
What was that about?

She spoke aloud.

Mika:
Why did he… <gasp> Did he just hit on me? No, wait! If he was hitting on me then he’d ask for my number… Ugh~ What was that? Boys is so complex.

She scratched her head until her hair was completely a mess.

Customer:
<clear throat> Excuse me, miss.

Mika turned around and saw a male costumer holding items in one hand and holding a child’ hand in the another. They stared at her as if she’s crazy.

Child:
Scary~

She whimpered and hide behind the customer.

Mika:
Huh?!

-[Next]-

-[Golden Noodle]-

Mika dash into the restaurant. Like always, the place was packed. Mrs. Okada and the other waiters were busy taking orders and catered.

Mrs. Okada:
Thanks god, you’re here!

Mika:
Gomen! The person who have the shift next to mine was late…

Mrs. Okada:
It’s ok, it’s ok. Here.

She gave Mika a mini notebook and a black ink pen.

Mrs. Okada:
Can you please take order at table 5?

Mika:
Ok.

Mika rushed toward the table 5.

-[Next]-

Rina slide the door and stepped in.

Rina:
Tadaima~

She announced as she closed the door. Rina saw Mika laid on the floor with her arms and legs branched out.

Mika:
Ugghhh~ So tired.

Rina sat down beside her.

Rina:
What’s wrong?

Mika:
I’m so tired that I can’t lift my arms nor my legs anymore~

Rina:
Really? Even if I told you there’s a available job at the Academy?

Mika:
Really?!

Mika jumped up.

Rina:
Yup!

Mika:
What is it? What is it? What is it?

Rina:
You probably be disappoint when I told you.

Mika:
Why?

Rina:
Because the only job that they hiring right now is a position as a janitor.

Mika:
Oh.

She sounds disappointed.

Rina:
Gomen.

Mika:
It’s ok. I’ll do it!

Rina:
Huh? Really?

Mika:
Yeah, I mean it’s only a part time job. So yeah… I can do it.

-[Next]-

-[Avex Artist Academy]-

Hideki, the vocal instructor, demonstrated the basic exercise to the class. Rina was one of the student. While the vocal instructor were giving lesson, Mika, mopping the floor and also peaking her head inside the class every now and then.

Hideki:
When you’re trying to hold the note, it’d best if you use vibrato…

Mika:
Vibrato??

She whispered.

Mika:
What’s that?

She questioned. The mop that Mika was sweeping back and forth suddenly stuck, as if there’s something in the way. Mika looked at the mop and the object next to it. When she slowly look up, Mika was shocked to see Masato Mastuura, the Avex CEO.

Mika:
<gasp>

Mika flinched back.

Mika:
Gomen nasai. Gomen, gomen, gomen.

Mika repeatedly bow. At the moment, every eyes were on her and the most important person in the company.

Masato:
Daijoubu, daijoubu.

Hideki:
Masato-san. You came just in time.

He cuts in.

Hideki:
Everyone, I bet you already know Mr. Mastuura, the company CEO.

Mika:
CEO?!?!

Mika yelled. She instantly covered her mouth.

Mika:
Gomen!

She bowed once again and left the room. Once Mika existed the room, she hide under the stairs.

Mika:
Aah~ Baka! Baka! Baka!

She pounded her head against the brick wall.

Mika:
CEO! He’s a CEO! And I… Aah~ I shouldn’t live anymore.

While Mika tortured herself, a couple passed her and witnessed Mika continued to banged her head onto the wall. They speed up and whispered.

Unknown #1:
Don’t make any eye contact.

Unknown #2:
Uh.

-[Next]-

-[Golden Noodle]-

Mrs. Okada:
Please come back soon.

She shouted to the customers who were leaving, while polishing the table.

Mrs. Okada:
Rina, thanks for helping out. You must be really busy with school and all.

Rina:
No, no, it’s fine.

Mrs. Okada smiled.

Mrs. Okada:
You too, Mika.

Mika:
It’s ok, auntie. Working here is nothing compare to what you did for us.

Mrs. Okada:
What are you talking? You guys are like daughters that I never had.

Mika and Rina chuckled.

<bell chime>

Mika:
Irashama…

Mika looked up and there was Keito and Yuto standing in front of her.

Mika:
…se.

Keito:
Doumo.

Yuto:
Hajimemashite.

He bowed. Mika slightly dipped her head. Rina’s eyes turned toward the guests.

Mika:
What…

Yuto:
Yamada! Hurry up! I wanna eat some delicious ramen.

Yamada stepped in the restaurant.

Yamada:
I’m coming.

Once Mika’s eyes met Yamada’s, they shouted.

Mika and Yamada:
You!!! Me?!

Yuto:
Whoa! How did you guys do that?

Mika knotted her arms close to her chest.

Mika:
<scoff> What a bad day we have here at the Golden Noodle.

Yamada:
I can see that I’m not welcome here.

He turned around and almost took a step but Yuto held him back and whispered into his ears.

Yuto:
Apologize.

Yamada:
Why should I?

He struggled.

Yuto:
Come on, I’m really hungry. Plus, it was your fault the other day so just apologize.  Maybe when you apologize, they might give us free ramen. Free ramen.

Yamada:
If I apologize, will you let me go?

Yuto:
Are you?

Yamada:
Let go of me.

Yuto released Yamada. Yamada fixed his wrinkled attire.

Yamada:
Please forgive me.

He bowed.

Rina:
It’s ok.

Yuto:
Alright! Apology accepted!!

Mika rolled her eyes.

Yuto:
Let’s eat!!

He clapped his hand loudly. Yamada looked away. While Keito quietly glanced at Rina.

To be continue…

[NOTE]

Any grammar, comment or suggestion please address me on my LJ or here ^^

Leave a Reply

