Track #009: Wake up call

12 May

<beep> <beep> <beep> <beep> <click>

Mika stretched her hands out of the blanket and shut the alarm off.

Mika:
<groan>

-[15 minutes later]-

Mika marched out of her room.

Mika:
Nnn…

She stretched her arms up to the ceiling. Mika stepped into the kitchen and opened the refrigerator and grabbed a water bottle. She took a gulp of the cold water as she turned around.

Yamada:
Once again, you’re over slept.

Mika spit the water as soon as she saw Yamada sat at the dinner table, reading the newspaper.

Mika:
W-w-when did you got home?

Yamada:
Last night.

Mika:
O-oh. Have you ate yet?

Yamada:
No.

Mika:
Ok, I’ll see if there’s any rice left.

Yamada:
It’s ok. I’ll have toast and egg today.

Mika paused. She quickly turned around and faced Yamada.

Mika:
Really? Wow~ He left for only a couple days and he changed so much. Thank you, Jesus!!

Yamada:
Of course not. Make rice and soup. Hurry up! I’m hungry.

Mika faced her head down.

Mika:
I knew it. This is too good to be true.

She walked toward the pantry.

Yamada:
I want Udon for dinner.

Mika peeked her head out.

Mika:
What? Again? Why~

She whined.

Yamada:
It’s a little thing compare to what you did that night.

Mika:
That night? Huh?

Yamada took his eyes off the newspaper and looked directly at Mika.

Yamada:
You seriously forgot?

Mika’s face showed no sign of any knowledge.

Yamada:
<sigh>

He placed the newspaper down the table.

Yamada:
You don’t remember that…

He putted his hand close to his mouth and imitated the vomiting noise.

Mika:
Huh? You’re pregnant?

Yamada freezes.

Yamada:
What?!?!

Mika:
I don’t know. You suddenly want to eat Udon and make that noises…

Yamada:
You vomited on me, you idiot!

Mika:
Oh~ Why didn’t you just say so? Ok, ok. I’m sorry.

Yamada:
No. I don’t accept your apology. It was my favorite shirt.

Mika:
Oh, you’re so stingy. Ok, fine. I’ll make Udon.

She marched into the pantry again. Yamada picked up the newspaper and hide his face.

Yamada (voice-over)
Mwhahaha… She’s so simple-minded.

-[Next]-

-[Grocery Store]-

Mika wandered the vegetable aisle.

Mika:
<brief sigh> Ugh! Why’s he so picky? What’s so good about Udon? Ugh~ So annoying.

She glanced at her watch.

Mika:
Ooh, I have plenty of time before the monster come home.

-[Next]-

-[Music Store]-

<bell chime>

Mika stepped into the store. She marched toward the new release section.

Mika:
Ah! Her album hasn’t release yet? I thought it would be release by now.

T.V Annoucer:
…Rina Hoshino (19) new album has postpone to February 12th due to some difficulty…

Mika turned her full attention toward the T.V above her.

T.V. Annoucer:
However, the preview of her new single has released on her official website last night. The new song, which the singer has written and composed, “Confession” has leaked all over the net…

Mika:
Confession?

She whispered.

T.V. Annoucer:
… and fans are urged to get their hands on the album. Now, here’s the preview of the new single.

♪Confession♪

Mika suddenly dropped the grocery bag that she held.

Mika:
No… no… That’s my song.

-[Next]-

-[Golden Noodlle]-

Mrs. Okada:
Hai. Arigatou.

She smiled as she departed from the table.

<bell chimes>

Mika dash inside. Once she saw her aunt, Mika grabbed Mrs. Okada.

Mika:
Auntie. Answer me. Do you see my notebook?

Mrs. Okada:
What notebook?

Mika:
The red one that I always carry around.

Mrs. Okada:
No. I haven’t.

Mika’s face became pale.

Mrs. Okada:
What’s wrong, Mika? Are you ok?

Mika shook her head.

Mika:
No. That can’t be.

She rushed out the entrance and bumped into her cousin, Sousuke.

Mrs. Okada:
Mika! Mika!

Sousuke:
What’s wrong with her?

He asked.

Mrs. Okada:
I don’t know. It’s something about her red notebook.

Sousuke’s expression changed.

Mrs. Okada:
Sousuke, do you have any idea of this situation?

Sousuke puzzled. Mrs. Okada grabbed onto his shirt.

Mrs. Okada:
Sousuke. Sousuke. Answer me.

-[Next]-

-[Rina’s Apartment]-

Rina stepped out of the apartment carried a hand bag. Once Mika saw Rina, she quickly ran toward her and grabbed Rina.

Mika:
Rina. I heard the preview of your new song and it’s sound similar to the song that I wrote. You know that song, right? You saw it once. Rina. What’s going on? Tell me, Rina.

Rina grabbed Mika’s hands and shook it off.

Rina:
Calm down.

Mika:
I don’t know what’s going on. I was in…

Rina:
<scoff> Since you already know so there’s no point of keep it a secret anymore.

Mika paused and looked at Rina.

Mika:
What?

Rina looked directly in Mika’s eyes.

Rina:
Yeah. You’re right. It’s your song.

Mika:
H-how?

Rina:
Your cousin and I did a little trading.

Mika:
I-I-I don’t get it…

Rina:
<scoff> You are truly an idiot. Listen carefully, Mika Tanaka. I took your song. Got it?

Mika:
I’ll report this to your…

Rina:
Go ahead. I dare you to.Who would want to believe a loser like you? Is there any evidence saying that the song is made from you? Huh? Do you have the copyright for it? No, I don’t think so. So just give up, Mika. As a friend, I’m worry that you would waste all of that energy and in the end… you will end up as a pathetic loser.

Mika:
Why? Why are you going this? I thought we’re friends?

Rina:
<chuckle> Friends? Who said we were friends? I kept you near me because I saw how useful you are; always protected me and all.

Mika:
You bitch!

Mika marched toward Rina and raised her hand high, about the slapped her. However, someone behind her stopped her. Mika turned around.

Keito:
Please stop it, Mika.

Mika:
B-but…

Rina collapsed. She cried.

Rina:
Why are you being so mean, Mika? I thought we’re friends. You can’t you be happy for me? What did I do wrong?

Keito ran toward Rina and comforted her.

Rina:
Keito-kun. She demanded me to stay away from you because we’re getting close and all. She’s jealous at me because she likes you. What is it that I do wrong to make Mika hate me?

She broke down. Mika couldn’t speak a word. Keito glared at Mika.

Mika:
N-no. No. Keito. Lis…

She slowly walked toward Keito.

Keito:
Get away from me!

Mika freezes.

Keito:
I don’t want to see your face ever again!

Tears flowned down Mika’s eyes. Keito helped Rina up and assisted her to his car.

-[Next]-

-[Okada’s Residence]-

Mr. Okada:
You bastard!

He raised his hand up. Sousuke hidden behind Kimiko. Mrs. Okada stopped Mr. Okada.

Mrs. Okada:
Honey! Your health.

Mr. Okada settle on the sofa behind him.

Mr. Okada:
How could you, huh? Mika’s your cousin! How could you stole her belonging and sell it…

He placed his hand to his heart.

Mrs. Okada:
Please calm down.

Sousuke:
There was no other way. Rina offered a large amount of money and at the moment we’re desperately need money so I…

Mr. Okada:
How could you live with yourself, huh?

Sousuke:
I’m sorry. I just couldn’t help it.

Mr. Okada:
You are just horrible. I can’t believe I have you as my son.

He stood up and walked toward his room. He opened the door and slammed the door as he walked in.

Mrs. Okada:
<sigh> Mika, you poor thing.

-[Next]-

Mika’s head rested on the window of the train.

<flash back>

Rina:
<chuckle> Friends? Who said we were friends? I kept you near me because I saw how useful you are; always protected me and all.

<flash back>

Keito:
Get away from me!

Mika freezes.

Keito:
I don’t want to see your face ever again!

<flash back>

Mika (voice-over):
Keito, don’t say that. Anything but those words.

Tears dropped upon her cheeks. Mika used her hands to swiped it away. She took a deep breath in.

-[Next]-

-[Yamada’s Apartment]-

Yamada sat on the sofa. Impatiently tapped his feet continuously. He glanced at the clock in front of him; 9:52 pm.

Yamada:
Tch. That woman. Where’s she?

<door open>

Yamada:
You’re a dead meat.

He whispered as he got up. Yamada stepped out to the entree and saw Mika with her head down.

Yamada:
Where were you, huh?! Do you know what time is it now?!

Mika ignored him and walked around him. Yamada’s eyes followed her.

Yamada:
Oi! Are you listening to me?

He followed her.

Yamada:
Mika! Are you deaf?! Answer me, idiot!

Mika turned around.

Mika:
Shut up!!!

She yelled.

Mika:
I wish I was deaf so I don’t have to listen to all those cruel things that people said. Sure, I am an idiot. That’s why it’s so easy for you all to use me. You wanna know where I’ve been?

Tears fell upon her eyes.

Mika:
Today, I found out that my best friend… No, someone who I thought is my best friend, betrayed me. She took away my song and said it was hers and there’s nothing I can do about it. The guy that I love told me to stay away from me. Are you happy now to see me like this? Are you…

Yamada grabbed her wrist and dragged her into his arms. He held her tight.

Yamada:
Shh… That’s enough!

Mika:
<sob> W-what am I gonna do now?

Yamada:
Right now, you can cry.

Mika dunk her face into Yamada’s chest and cotinue to cry.

-[Next]-

-[Mika’s Room]-

Yamada sat beside Mika’s bed, watching her sleep.

Yamada:
I’m sorry. If I know this was happening… I wouldn’t said those words.

He whispered.

Yamada:
Mika… Good night.

-[Next]-

-[The next morning]-

Yamada stepped out of his room. Facing Mika’s room, he released a long sigh and headed toward the kitchen.

-[Next]-

-[CM Shooting Set]-

Yamada stared blankly at the script. Chinen sneaked behind Yamada.

Chinen:
Boo!

Yamada jumped. He turned around.

Yamada:
Oh. It’s you.

He smiled.

Chinen:
What’s wrong? You seems distracted.

Yamada:
Nothing. Nothing at all.

At the moment, Keito entered the set.

Chinen:
Oh! You’re here!

Keito:
Chinen, Yamada. Ohayou.

He smiled. Yamada kept a still expression.

Yamada:
Excuse me.

He stood up and marched out of the set.

Keito:
What’s wrong?

He asked Chinen.

Chinen:
I don’t know.

-[Next]-

-[Yamada’s Apartment]-

Yamada:
Tadaima.

He stepped in and slipped his shoes out. Yamada felt the cold atmosphere of the house.

-[Next]-

Yamada stood in front of Mika’s door. He knocked on the wooden door.

Yamada:
Mika! Come out and eat!

But there wasn’t any response.

Yamada:
<sigh> Fine. I’ll eat out.

-[Next]-

-[The next morning]-

Once Yamada stepped out of his room, a note tape onto Mika’s door caught his eyes. He walked toward it and read.

“I made breakfast on the table. Please reheat before eat it ” -Mika-

Yamada pulled the note of the door.

-[Next]-

Yamada looked within the clear plastic wrapper.

Yamada:
Egg and toast? Really? That woman… Tch.

He took a deep breath in.

Yamada:
I’ll endure it today.

-[4 days later]-

Yamada faced the cold wooden door, reading the note on the door.

“I made breakfast on the table. Please enjoy it” -Mika-

Yamada snatched the note off the door.

Yamada:
Enjoy it? Easy for you to say.

-[Next]-

Blankly stared at the food on the table, Yamada’s eyes twitched.

Yamada:
Egg and toast.. Again?!?! Ok. I’ve had enough.

Yamada marched toward Mika’s room. He slammed on the door repeatedly and shouted.

Yamada:
Oi!!! Mika!! I’ve had enough of these nonsense!! Get your a** out here now or I’ll break in.

There wasn’t any movement nor response.

Yamada:
Fine! It’s that what you want?

He flinched far away from the door and rolled up his sleeves.

Yamada:
Alright.

He whispered.

Yamada:
1…2…3…

He lifted his feet and dash toward the door. At the moment, Mika suddenly pulled the door open.

Mika:
What?!?!

As soon as Yamada saw Mika, he was too late to stop himself from the great energy that he had prepared. They both collapsed onto the floor. Yamada’s body landed on top of Mika’s and their lips… touched.

To be continue…

Leave a Reply

