Track #010: Reborn

23 May

Track #010: Reborn

<thud> <thud> <thud>

Yamada:
Oi!!! Mika!! I’ve had enough of this nonsense!! Get your a** out here now or I’ll break in.

He shouted. While Mika rolled in a ball, with the pillow stuffed both ears. Her eyes brows pulled tight together.

Yamada:
Fine! It’s that what you want?

He flinched far away from the door and rolled up his sleeves. Mika got up from her bed and walked toward the door.

Yamada:
1…2…3…

He lifted his feet and dash toward the door. At the moment, Mika suddenly pulled the door open.

Mika:
WHAT?!?!

As soon as Yamada saw Mika, he was too late to stop himself from the great energy that he had prepared. They both collapsed onto the floor. Yamada’s body landed on top of Mika’s and their lips…touched. They eyes met. Time pause. Both could hear each other’s heart beat racing through their vain. Mika pushed Yamada away from her.

Mika:
What the HELL?!!!

She screamed as she used her hand to sweep her lips.

Yamada:
Why did you just open the door like that?!

He shouted.

Mika
You’re the one whose keep knocking the door.

Yamada:
U-uh…

He stumbled.

Yamada:
It’s your fault!

He pointed his index finger at Mika, who sat across from him.

Mika:
How is it my fault?

Yamada:
Because of your selfish act I have to suffer. Do you know what it’s like to eat toast and egg for 5 days straight? I want rice and soup!!

Mika:
No!

-[Next]-

Mika placed a hot bowl of potato soup in front of Yamada.

Mika:
Here.

Yamada lifted the spoon and dipped into the soup. Mika pulled the chair across from Yamada’s and sat down. She released a sigh while Yamada enjoy the hot potato soup.

Yamada:
What is it?

Mika:
Do you think I’m an idiot?

Yamada:
You want my honest answer?

Mika:
Never mind.

She put her hand upon her cheek and stared out the balcony.

Yamada:
You’re not and idiot.

It caught Mika’s attention.

Yamada:
You’re trust people too easily. You continue to give and give without asking anything return. That’s why they use it against you.

Mika:
What’s wrong with that?

Yamada:
Mika. Have you ever think what you want?

Mika:
Yeah.

Yamada:
Since you said that, why didn’t fight to take your song back? Why didn’t confessed to Keito?

Mika:
Be-because… You don’t get it. It’s too complex.

Yamada:
No. It’s not because it’s complex or anything. You’re afraid that you’d never have the power to do that.

Mika couldn’t reply. She looked down her fingers.

Yamada:
<sigh> You know, there’s 2 different kind of people in this world. One who’d give and even sacrifice what they have to someone else because they think it’d make that person happy. And there’s one who’d always take and never want to give. The one whose give would never have anything and the one whose take would have everything. Life is simple… Winner keeper. Loser weeper. If you don’t take then you’d always end with nothing.

He stood up from his chair.

Yamada:
Thanks for breakfast.

-[Next]-

-[Rina’s Apartment]

<ding> <ding> <ding>

Rina opened the door and saw Keito stood in front of her. Once Keito saw her, a smile appears on his face.

-[Next]-

Rina place a hot cup of green tea in front of Keito and sit across from him.

Rina:
Sorry. I only have tea in the house.

Keito:
It’s fine. It’s fine.

He picked up the cup and took a sip.

Rina:
What bring you here?

Keito place the cup down the coffee table.

Keito:
I just want to make sure you’re ok.

Rina:
Eh?

Keito:
You know… about the incident a couple days ago.

Rina looked down.

Rina:
I’m fine. Thanks.

She smiled.

Rina:
But I still don’t get why Mika acted like that. I mean we’re friends ever since little until now… <sigh> It’s my fault.

She frowned.

Keito:
Time change so does people. Don’t blame yourself.

Rina:
No, it’s my fault. I know that she likes you and all but…

She looked away.

Keito:
What? What is it?

Rina:
The song “Confession” that I wrote was dedicated to you.

Keito:
Huh?

Rina:
Keito-kun. I like you. I told Mika that I like you and she became angry and kept telling me to give the song to her so she can sing it to you. But… I refused. So she… I don’t get it. What’s wrong with liking someone? Maybe it was wrong to like you.

Keito:
No. Don’t say that. I’ve always wanted to say how I feel toward you but I was too afraid… but I’m not anymore. Rina…

Keito grabbed her hands.

Keito:
I like you. I really like you.

Rina:
Really?

Keito:
More than anything.

Rina smiled.

Rina:
Yokatta. But…

She frowned.

Rina:
What about Mika? I don’t wanna upset her anymore.

Keito:
It’s ok. I’ll deal with her.

Rina:
I think Mika are lost and confuse right now. But no matter how treated toward me… she would always my friend. Please you be too harsh on her.

Keito:
I promise.

-[Next]-

-[Yamada’s apartment]-

Mika sat at the dinner table, stared and held tightly on her phone.

<tick tock> <tick tock>

Mika took a deep breath. She flipped the lid of the phone and began to dial.

-[Next]-

-[Keito’s car]-

<buzz> <buzz> <buzz>

[Mika is calling]

Mika’s name appears on the caller ID. Keito pressed End.

-[Next]-

-[Yamada’s apartment]-

Voicemail:
The number you’re trying to reach is currently not available. Please leave a message after the beep.

<beep>

Mika:
K-keito? I-I-I

She stumbled.

Mika:
<sigh> I know that you’re ignoring me right now. I can explain everything. Please meet me at the park. I’ll wait for you until you come.

She pressed End. Mika released another sigh. She looked out the balcony.

-[Next]-

-[Johnny san’s (CEO) office]

Yamada stepped into the grand office.

Johnny:
You came?

Yamada walked toward his desk, where he sat.

Yamada:
What’s the reason you call me?

Johnny grabbed a newspaper and threw it on the table.

[Shida and Yamada together at a hotel]

The big headline printed bold on the front of the paper.

Johnny:
What’s this?

He pointed at the newspaper.

Yamada:
This is a misunderstanding.

Johnny:
Do you know how many rumors you have within this year? This is your 6th rumor. I’ve received many calls today from reporters asking me if this true or not <sigh> Yamada… you’re an idol. And as an idol you know that you have to keep an image that people could look up to. So you can not make any mistake.

Yamada:
I’m sorry.

He bowed.

Johnny:
<sigh> From now on, don’t create another scandal. Understand?

Yamada:
Yes, sir. I understand

-[ At a restaurant]-

The ten members of the idol group, Hey!Say!JUMP filling in the empty seats and sat down. They all opened the menu in front of them.

Hikaru:
Alright. What do you guys wanna eat?

Daiki:
I’m craving for some pizza. Anyone?

Inoo:
Pizza? Baka. We’re not at an Italian restaurant.

He chuckled.

Chinen:
I want pizza.

Yuto:
Ah~ Now I also want pizza.

Daiki:
Aww… We should’ve gone to a Italian restaurant.

Chinen:
Yeah.

Everyone joined the conversation at once.

Hikaru:
Alright. Shut up. Shut up!!!

Everyone quiet.

Hikaru:
We’ll all have Soba. End of story.

Daiki, Chinenand Yuto:
Aww~

Takaki:
Ah!

He slipped his hands into both of this jean pockets.

Keito:
What’s wrong?

Takaki:
I can’t find my phone.

Inoo:
Did you left it at the studio?

Takaki:
No. I remember I put it in my jean pocket.

Hikaru;
Maybe it off when you grabbed your wallet outside.

Takaki:
Yeah.

Keito:
Is your phone on vibrating mode?

Takaki:
No. Why?

Keito:
Here.

He handed his cell phone to Takaki.

Keito:
Use my phone to call your phone.

Takaki grabbed the phone.

Takaki:
Thanks.

He began to dial his phone number, as he exist the restaurant.

Yuto:
What a clumsy guy.

He chuckled.

Daiki:
It is his 15th phone now?

Hikaru:
Yeah.

Yuto:
Wow~ Really?

Hikaru:
He kept forgot or always left his phone anywhere.

Chinen:
Now I know what to buy for him for his birthday.

Yuto:
What?

Chinen:
A phone strap that attach to his pant.

Hikaru:
What? Is there such thing?

Chinen:
Yeah, I saw it on a commercial the other day.

Yuto:
The phone will be with him 24/7 even when he going to the toilet.

Everyone laughed except for Yamada.

Daiki, who sat beside Yamada, asked.

Daiki:
How come you’re so quiet today?

Yamada:
Oh nothing. I’m just a little tired.

Daiki:
You? Tired? Whoa! It’s the first time I heard you say that.

Hikaru:
It probably about a girl, huh?

Yamada jumped.

Yamada:
No.

Hikaru:
Aha! It is about a girl. Look how reacted.

Inoo:
Who is it?

Daiki:
Is she famous? Is it Shida?

Yuto:
So the rumor is true.

Chinen:
What rumor?

Yuto:
You guys haven’t heard that Shida and our Yamada entered a hotel late at night?

Inoo:
Wow! Is it true? Another scandal?

Daiki:
No way! A hotel? Don’t tell me that you did that with her?

Yamada:
N-

Hikaru:
Whoa! Really? How is it feels like?

Inoo:
What kind of question is that? Of course it feels good.

Yuto:
I can’t believe it. Our beloved Yamada and Shida. When do we receive a wedding invitation, huh?

Yamada:
No. Stop making stupid guesses. There’s nothing going on between her and me.

Yuto:
Come on. Stop lying. Just tell us.

Yuto elbowed him. At the moment, Takaki entered the restaurant.

Hikaru:
Ah! He comes back.

Takaki ran to the table.

Keito:
Did you found your phone yet?

Takaki:
Yeah. Here.

He showed everyone his phone and sat down.

Chinen:
Where did you found it?

Takaki:
It fell on the seat of my car.

Daiki:
We were talking about buying you a phone strap that attach to your phone so won’t lose it again.

Takaki:
Eh?

Everyone laughed.

Takaki:
You guys are weird.

He turned to Keito.

Takaki:
Keito.

He handed the phone to Keito.

Takaki:
Thanks.

Keito grabbed the phone.

Keito:
No problem.

Takaki:
Ah! A girl called earlier.

Keito:
Who?

Takaki:
A girl name Mika, I think.

It gabbed Keito and Yamada’s attention.

Takaki:
She said she wanna meet you at the park and she’ll wait until you come.

Keito:
Oh. I see. Thanks.

Daiki:
Whoa~ Now, it’s Keito turn. Who is she, huh?

Yuto:
Isn’t she the one who at the Ramen shop?

Keito ignored the question.

Keito:
It’s nothing. We should order. I’m hungry.

Chinen:
Yeah. Me too.

Hikaru:
Come on, let’s order.

Yamada glared at Keito.

-[Next]-

-[At the park]-

From Keito’s view, he saw Mika waited patiently at the bench. He released a sigh and took a step toward where she sat. Mika looked down at her shoes as she waited for Keito arrival. Suddenly, she saw a familiar shoe. She looked up and saw Keito. She got up from the bench.

Mika:
O-oh. You came.

Keito:
What is it that you wanna say?

Mika:
I-

Keito:
No. Let me say first.

Mika looked at him.

Keito:
Do you know how much you’ve hurt Rina the other day? How could do that to her? After all what she did to you. Instead of thanking her, you hurt her…

Mika:
What? Hurt her? Me?

Keito:
Mika. I don’t know what had came over you but you need to realize that we can’t be together. I love Rina. I can’t love anyone else but her. I’m sorry.

Mika:
Why her?

Keito:
There isn’t a reason to like someone. You just feel it. You’ll know once you find someone who’d love you.

Mika:
I see… I get it. At the end of the day, she would have everything.

Keito:
I don’t think you get-

Mika:
No! I understand it now. I’d always be someone with nothing.

Keito:
I’m sorry. I have to go now.

He turned around and marched away from Mika. Mika sat down the bench. From a distance, Yamada witnessed the scene in his car. Clouds gathered and blocked the sky. Suddenly, raindrops fell from the sky. A shower of million raindrops poured down from the sky. Everyone dash to a place to hide from the rain. Except for Mika. She sat still at the bench.

Yamada:
That idiot.

He whispered.

-[Next]-

Mika sat on the bench, soaking wet but there wasn’t any movement came from her. The raindrops have frozen her body. However, she couldn’t feel them. She was numbed. Suddenly she felt a warm feelings and it seems the rain has stop but the noise of the raindrops bouncing off the solid ground didn’t. She looked up and saw Yamada, who covered her with an umbrella.

Yamada:
Let go home.

Mika:
You can go ahead. I’ll sit here for a while.

Yamada:
Come on, you’ll get sick.

Mika didn’t answered. Yamada grabbed her hands and pulled her up.

Mika:
W-wha-

He dragged her toward his car. Yamada opened the passenger’s door and shoved Mika into the seat and slammed the door.

-[Next]-

-[Yamada’s apartment]-

Yamada grabbed a dry towel from the closet and marched toward Mika’s room. He put it on Mika’s head.

Yamada:
After you are dry, rest for a little bit, ok?

He headed toward the door.

Mika:
You’re right.

Yamada stopped.

Mika:
At the end of the day, the winner takes all. A loser like me got nothing. I… I don’t wanna be a loser anymore.

Yamada instantly turned around and looked at her. Mika looked straight into his eyes.

Mika:
I want revenge.

To be continue…

Leave a Reply

