Track #011: Audition

24 May

Yamada’s car tire screeched, making a full stop at the red light.

<flash back>

Mika:
I… I don’t wanna be a loser anymore.

Yamada instantly turned around and looked at her. Mika looked straight into his eyes.

Mika:
I want revenge.

<flash back>

Yamada:
<scoff> Revenge? Just because of him? <scoff>

His eyes flicked around and ended at the T.V in a store, viewing RIna’s new single preview. He looked ahead, a few blocks from where his car stopped, posters of Rina covers every walls and poles.

<flash back>

Mika:
Today, I found out that my best friend… No, someone who I thought is my best friend betrayed me. She took away my song and said it was hers and there’s nothing I can do about it. The guy that I love told me to stay away from me…

<flash back>

Yamada:
<sigh> Baka! If you want revenge don’t just do it because of them…

The lights turned green, Yamada stepped on the accelerator and speed away.

-[TBS T.V station]-

-[Dressing Room]-

<knock> <knock> <knock>

Arika (43), Yamada’s manager, stepped inside.

Akira:
Oi! You’re on in 5 minutes.

Yamada turned around.

Yamada:
Thanks.

Akira:
By the way, about the rumor between you and Shida…

Yamada:
Don’t worry. It’s not true.

Akira:
Did Johnny-san say much?

Yamada shook his head.

Yamada:
No. Nothing much.

Akira:
<sigh> Yamada. Please be careful. You know that you’re an idol and you know that there’s a lot of expectation…

Yamada:
I know, I know. It won’t happen again. Do I have any event after this one?

Akira:
Yeah, you have a photo shoot and after that you have another interview for Myojo magazine and another one for Duet magazine.

Yamada:
Ok, thanks.

Akira:
Oh yeah, tomorrow you have a commercial to film.

Yamada:
Got it.

Akira:
Alright, I’ll get going.

He turned around.

Yamada:
Wait!

Akira stopped and looked back.

Yamada:
Does any record company holding an audition?

Akira:
Huh? Audition?

Yamada:
Uh.

Akira:
I believe there’s quite some. But why did you ask?

Yamada:
It’s for a friend.

Akira:
Oh. If your friend want to audition then that person should buy this magazine called, Audition. It has applications and information contain in the magazine.

Yamada:
Can you buy the magazine?

Akira:
Sure.

Yamada:
Thanks.

He smiled.

-[Next]-

-[Yamada’s apartment]-

Yamada slammed the heavy piles of magazines onto the coffee table. Mika looked at it and up at Yamada, stood in front of her.

Mika:
What’s this?

Yamada:
This is magazine called, Audition. It has applications and info of upcoming and current audition.

Mika grabbed the magazine and flipped through it.

Mika:
Whoa~ Sugoi.

She looked at Yamada.

Mika:
Did you bought this for me?

She smiled.

Yamada:
Me? Of course not.

Mika’s smile faded away.

Yamada:
When I was at an interview, I saw the staffs trying to throw all of these magazines away so I took it.

Mika:
So this is trash?

Yamada:
It’s in a good condition. It’s kinda a waste to throw it away.

Mika:
So you bought it home?

Yamada:
Yeah. Don’t you need it for your “revenge”?

He raised his hands and made the quotation marks in the air.

Mika:
Are you mocking me?

Yamada:
Do you want it or not?

He bended down and grabbed the piles of magazines. Mika stopped him.

Mika:
Ok, ok. Since I’m in a desperate need, I’ll take it.

Yamada removed his hands.

Yamada:
Prepare dinner. I’ll take a shower.

Mika:
Ok.

He turned around. A smirk appeared on his face.

Yamada (voice over):
Mwhahaha…

-[Next]-

The water sprays from the showerhead. Each drops fell and bounce off Yamada’s body. He used his hands to sweep his wet hair back and leaned his face toward the water. Yamada twisted the knob. The water stopped flowing from the showerhead. Yamada slides the shower curtain and stepped out. He reached his arms out and grabbed the towel; hang upon the rack beside him. Before he could wrap the towel around his waist, out of nowhere, Mika crashed in.

Mika:
Yamada. Yamada. Look at this!

She shouted as she held onto the magazine. Mika moved her eyes away from the magazine and onto Yamada, who’s fully naked. Yamada quickly wrapped the towel to hide himself.

Yamada:
WHAT THE HELL?!?!

Mika:
Oh, sorry.

She calmly said.

Yamada:
Can’t you see that I’m taking a shower?

Mika:
I know… It’s not liked “it” is interesting or out of ordinary.

She mumbled. Yamada glared at her.

Mika:
Come on, I already know how “it” looks like.

Yamada:
Get out!

Mika:
B-but…

Yamada:
Out! NOW!!!

He pushed her out of the bathroom.

Mika:
But…

He slammed the door onto her face.

Yamada:
<scoff> Is she even a lady?

He mumbled.

-[Next]-

Mika placed the plate of tempura on the table and sat down across from Yamada. She joined hands.

Mika:
Ittadakisu~

She digs in the bowl of rice and enjoyed the tempura. While Yamada sat still, glared at her. Mika noticed Yamada.

Mika:
How come you’re not eating?

Yamada:
How could you?

Mika:
Why not? The tempura is crispy and delish. How can I not eat it?

Yamada:
I meant… After that-

He paused.

Yamada:
Never mind. I’m just wasting my breath.

He grabbed the chopsticks beside the bowl of rice and digs in.

Mika:
I grew up in a house full of men.

Yamada stopped and looked at Mika.

Mika:
My mom left when I was 6. My dad raised my two older brothers and me. It’s strange, isn’t it? People asked me it is complicated and awkward to surround by men? But I’ve never had that feeling. Because they’re my family… Seeing naked men isn’t strange or surprising to me. So don’t worry.

She resumed eating. While Yamada looked at her.

Yamada:
Do you know where she is now?

Mika:
Huh?

She stopped.

Yamada:
Your mom. Do you know where she is?

Mika looked down at the half full bowl of rice.

Mika:
The last time I heard from her is when I was in middle school. I heard she married a movie director, moved to Tokyo and had 2 children. You know what’s funny? Before hearing that news, I was waited and hoping that she’d come back but ever since I heard that, I began to hate her so much. I don’t even remember how she looks like anymore.  Anyway, we should eat this before it gets cold.

She grabbed the tempura with the chopsticks and placed it in her mouth.

Mika:
Mm~ It’s so good.

She smiled. Yamada looked at her.

-[Next]-

-[Pony Crayon]-

Unknown:
Next!

Mika got up from the chair.

-[Next]-

♪…Tada kimi wo aishiteru kokoro kara sou omotta…♪ (Yuki No Hana by Mika Nakashima)

Judge #1:
Well…

He flipped Mika’s application to her info and her picture.

Judge #1:
We really like your voice but would you consider a “little changes”?

Mika:
Huh?

Judge #1:
You know… plastic surgery.

Mika:
What?!

-[Nippon Crown Co., Ltd.]-

Judge #2:
Your voice is amazing but our company wants someone who has a “fresh and interesting” look.

-[Victor Entertainment]-

Judge #3:
… Your appearance doesn’t match with our company standard.

-[Epic Record]-

Judge #4:
We’ll give you a call.

-[Next]-

Mika dropped the plate of tonkastu on the table. Yamada glanced at Mika’s facial expression.

Yamada:
What did the tonkatsu do to you?

Mika:
Nothing.

She sat down.

Mika:
Ittadakimasu.

She placed a large amount of rice into her mouth and chew.

Yamada:
Did something happen?

Mika swallowed and looked at Yamada with an irritate eyes. He flinched back.

Mika:
Do you think I’m ugly?

Yamada stared at Mika for a while.

Yamada:
Honestly… I don’t know.

Mika:
What? It’s a yes or no question.

Yamada:
But why do you ask?

Mika:
Today, I went to 4 different companies and their comments are mostly about my appearance.

Yamada:
What company did you went to?

Mika:
Pony Crayon, Nippon Crown, Victor and Epic.

She counted them, using her fingers.

Yamada:
Of course.

Mika looked at him.

Yamada:
All those company cares about look. They don’t really care about talent.

Mika:
Isn’t your company like that too?

Yamada glared at her.

Yamada:
What do you mean by that, huh?

Mika:
I mean, no offense, but your voice is ok. It’s not really sp-

She looked at him and she could see the flames in his eyes.

Mika:
Never mind. Please continue.

Yamada:
They’re looking for someone who could sell products. That’s how company receives money.

Mika:
Albums are also products.

Yamada:
Selling albums isn’t enough profit. Ads, commercial, photo shoot, fans, T-shirts, and other stuffs are the most important things. That’s how the companies make money.

Mika:
Unbelievable.

Yamada:
That’s how is it in this business.

Mika:
I feel sorry for you. They must’ve use your look to-

Yamada glared at her.

Mika:
Sorry.

She hides her face behind the bowl.

Yamada:
Have you try Sony?

Mika:
No. Not yet.

Yamada:
You should try audition there. It’s a pretty good company.

Mika:
Oh… I will.

Yamada:
Mika

Mika looked at Yamada.

Yamada:
Do you know what the different between an idol and a singer?

Mika shook her head.

Yamada:
An idol is all about appearance and selling products. And a singer is an entertainer. And…don’t let those people tell you what to do. Follow your heart. Just keep that in mind.

Mika looked into his eyes.

Mika:
Uh.

-[Next]-

-[Sony Music Entertainment]-

Mika stood in front of the building, take a good look at the tall building. She took a deep breath.

Mika:
Let’s get rolling!

-[Next]-

-[Waiting room]-

Mika impatiently waited. Suddenly, a girl rushed out of the auditioning room in tears.

Mika (voice over):
W-w-what happened?

Unknown #1:
I heard the judge is very strict and tough.

Mika immediately turned toward the two girls sat across from her.

Unknown #2:
How do you know that?

Unknown #1:
I have a friend who works here. He said the judge is a tough critic. That person has been in the industry more than 2 decades. Everyone in the industry admires him. The CEO especial chose him as the judge for this audition.

Unknown #2:
Wow~ what should I do?

Mika (voice over):
I’m dead.

She released a cough.

-[Next]-

-[Ladies’ Restroom]-

Mika stood in front of the mirror. She took a deep breath. Suddenly, from behind, a woman opened one of the stalls and exists. Their eyes met. They both exchanged a friendly smile. She rinsed her hand and walked out. Mika released a relieve sigh.

Mika:
Oh my god.

She took another deep breath.

Mika:
Ok. Calm down.

Mika lifted her beautiful voice.

♪Munasawagi to tomo ni nemuri ni tsuita yofuke
Totemo kanashii yume o miteita no o oboeteru
Sono asa yokan wa chinmoku o yaburu youni
Naridashita denwa de genjitsu no mono to natta
Kokoro ni kienai kizuato o nokoshita mama
Anata wa hitori hoshi ni natta…♪

At the moment, a man walked out of the men’s restroom. A voice made him stopped and walked closer toward the women’s restroom.

♪… Sayonara ne mou nidoto aenai basho e itta none
Eien no wakare no tsumetasa o uketomerarezu ni
Kikasete hoshikatta uso de kamawanai kara
Atashi wa anata ni tashikani aisarete itatte
Tatta ichido de iikara…♪

Mika’s voice echoed the empty room. Oh his face, Takeshi Nakahara (35), appears a smile.

-[Next]-

Mika stepped inside the audition room. She marched toward the center of the room, facing three judges.

Takeshi:
Please introduce yourself.

Mika:
My name is Mika Tanaka.

Takeshi:
And what song are you gonna sing?

Mika:
Memorial Address by Ayumi Hamasaki.

Takeshi:
Alright. Go ahead.

Mika took a deep breath.

♪Munasawagi to tomo ni nemuri ni tsuita yofuke
Totemo kanashii yume o miteita no o oboeteru
Sono asa yokan wa chinmoku o yaburu youni
Naridashita denwa de genjitsu no mono to natta
Kokoro ni kienai kizuato o nokoshita mama
Anata wa hitori hoshi ni natta ♪

Takeshi recognized that voice, the voice that he had heard.

♪Sayonara ne mou nidoto aenai basho e itta none
Eien no wakare no tsumetasa o uketomerarezu ni
Kikasete hoshikatta uso de kamawanai kara
Atashi wa anata ni tashikani aisarete itatte
Tatta ichido de iikara…♪

Mika looked at the judges for feedback.

Judge #1:
Amazing.

He began to clap.

Judge #2:
Best I heard all day.

Another joined. Mika was surprised to hear such a positive comments. She looked at the third judge sat in the middle, waiting for his feedback. Takeshi sat up straight. He looked at Mika.

Takeshi:
Mika Tanaka, isn’t it?

Mika nodded.

Takeshi:
Can you tell me why you chose that song?

Mika:
The lyric. I like the lyric.

Takeshi:
What’s the meaning behind the lyric?

Mika:
It’s about one’s loneliness. Someone special to her had left her without a word and she couldn’t say goodbye to that person. And even once, she’d want to that person to love her even if it’s a lie.

Takeshi:
Good.

He glanced at Mika’s application.

Takeshi:
Hmm… You didn’t finish high school?

Mika:
Well, my family couldn’t afford money for me to go to school so I decided to quit. But that doesn’t related to my singing-

Takeshi:
Mika-san. Do you think that you can depend on your voice to survive in this industry?

Mika stood still. She couldn’t reply.

Takeshi:
You didn’t know anything about this industry and yet you want to be a part of it?

Mika:
No! I have no idea what this industry is about but there’s one thing I’m certain… You guys would always pick a pretty girl who can’t even sing. And girls like me would either sweep the floor or a back up singer. Yes, I know I’m not pretty enough and I didn’t come from a well family. However, there’s something that I have that no one does and that is my voice. It’s ok that you don’t wanna accept me but don’t insult me like that.

She took a breath.

Mika:
Thanks. Have a nice day.

She bowed and headed toward the door.

Takeshi:
Who said we wouldn’t accept you?

Mika freezes.

To be continue…

4 Responses to “Track #011: Audition”

  1. Henaliza May 24, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    woahahaha..yama chan fully-naked 😀 I like Mika to take a evil revenge on Rina,I hate Rina

    • lalalandchannel May 24, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

      LOL… thanks for reading ^^ your comment made my day, strange huh?

  2. Henaliza May 25, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

    hihi..^^waiting for ur new chapter ^^

    • lalalandchannel May 26, 2010 at 5:02 am #

      Aww… thanks. I”m working on it ^^

Leave a Reply

