Track #015: Promises

6 Jun

Yamada drained the warm water out of the towel. He folded it into a rectangle shape and placed it on Mika’s forehead.

Yamada:
<sigh> Baka. Why didn’t you tell me you’re sick?

Mika laid still on her bed with a layer of blanket on her. Yamada noticed a maroon bag at the corner of his eyes. He stood up and marched toward it. Yamada grabbed the bag and looked inside; his name written on the tag on the handle of the bag. He took out the white box inside the bag. He opened the box and saw the glass golden star ornament.

<flash back>

Yamada placed a small cake on the table.

Atsuko:
Whoa~ You made this?

Yamada:
Uh.

He answered with a smile.

Atsuko:
I can’t wait to eat it.

Yamada:
Wait.

Atsuko stopped.

Yamada:
There’s something I want to give you.

Atsuko:
What is it?

Yamada:
But you have to close your eyes.

Atsuko shut her eyes.

Yamada:
No peeking.

Atsuko:
I won’t.

Yamada took out a silver box behind him.

Yamada:
Open your eyes.

Atsuko opened her eyes.

Atsuko:
You bought me a gift.

She grabbed the box from his hand.

Yamada:
Open it.

Atsuko opened the lid of the box.

Atsuko:
<gasp>

She looked at him.

Atsuko:
You bought it?

She stared at the glass golden star ornament.

Yamada:
Next Christmas, put this on our Christmas tree. Happy Birthday, Atsuko.

He smiled.

<flash back>

Yamada turned and looked at Mika, who rested on the bed.

-[In Mika’s dream]-

Unknown:
Mika… Mika…

Mika opened her eyes. She got up and found herself back in her hometown, underneath the oak tree of the hill. She looked around, wondering where the voice is coming from.

Unknown:
Mika…

She turned around and saw a woman figure.

Mika:
Mom?

Unknown:
I have to go now. Bye bye, Mika.

Mika:
Wait!

She reached her hand out. However, her mom continues to walk.

Mika:
No! Wait!

She got up and began to run after her mom.

Mika:
MOM!!!

She screamed. Her mom’s figure slowly disappeared into the fog.

Mika:
Mom~

Tears fell from eyes.

-[In reality]-

Mika:
Mom…

She mumbled. Yamada looked at Mika and noticed a teardrop fell from her eyes. He used his finger and swiped it away.

Yamada:
Do you really miss your mom that much?

-[Next]-

The sun shines through the thin curtain of Mika’s room. Mika slowly opened her eyes.

Mika (voice over):
Wh-Where am I?

She held onto her head as she rose up from the bed. Mika noticed Yamada lying on the side of her bed.

Mika:
Ah! Yamada?

She whispered. Mika slowly lay down beside Yamada, facing his sleeping face.

Mika (voice over):
Whoa! Your eyelashes are longer than mine. And your nose is so high. And your lips…

Her heart suddenly beat fast.

Mika (voice over):
There it goes again! My heart!

Mika instantly got up.

Mika:
I need a drink.

-[Next]-

Mika opened the refrigerator and grabbed a water bottle and shut it. She twisted the cap and took a sip. At the moment, Yamada appeared.

Yamada:
You’re up?

He scratched the back of his head. Once Mika saw Yamada, she suddenly choked.

Mika:
<cough> <cough>

Yamada ran toward her.

Yamada:
Oi! Are you ok?

He tabbed on her back.

Mika:
<cough> I’m <cough> I’m ok <cough>

Yamada:
You really can’t do anything by yourself, huh?

Mika:
<cough> I’m fine. You just caught me by surprised. <cough> <cough>

Yamada:
Tch.

He continued to tab on her back.

-[Next]-

Yamada placed down a bowl of porridge in front of Mika. Mika looked within the bowl and at Yamada.

Mika:
Is there poison in here?

Yamada:
Are you gonna eat it or not?

Mika:
<fake chuckle> Yes, sire.

She grabbed the spoon beside the bowl and dipped into the hot bowl of porridge. Yamada pulled the chair and sat down across her. He watched Mika as she placed a spoonful of porridge into her mouth.

Mika:
Whoa! This is good. This is very good.

She complimented.

Yamada:
Glad you like it.

Mika took another spoon.

Mika:
How come you don’t ever cook?

She talked with her mouth full.

Yamada:
Don’t talk when you’re eating.

Mika:
Sumimasen.

Yamada:
I did. But I stop.

Mika:
Why?

Yamada:
Because it’s reminded me of someone I want to forget.

Mika looked at Yamada.

Yamada:
After you finish that just put it in the sink…

He stood up. Mika’s eyes followed him.

Yamada:
I’ll wash it later.

He took a step but then stopped.

Yamada:
By the way… Thanks for the gift.

He marched out of the kitchen.

Mika:
He saw it?

She mumbled.

-[Next]-

Yamada stepped into his room and closed the door behind him.

<vibrate> <vibrate>

He noticed his phone on the bed. Yamada walked toward the bed and picked up the phone.

Yamada:
What is it, Akira?

Akira:
Don’t come to the studio today.

Yamada:
Why?

Akira:
<sigh> Yesterday, I called Ken-On agency and request a test and they accepted. However, you and Shida both cannot make any public appearance at the moment until the result of the test comes. Understand?

Yamada:
Uh. I understand.

He hangs up.

-[Next]-

Mika peeked her head into the kitchen and saw Yamada’s back. The sound of water running and the squeak nose from the soap against the dishes made Mika felt a little worry.

Mika:
He seriously washing dishes? What’s wrong with him?

She whispered.

-[Next]-

Mika stopped eating and stared at Yamada, who sat across from her.

Yamada:
What is it?

Mika:
H-huh?

Yamada:
If you have something to say then say it.

Mika:
No. It’s nothing.

She quickly stuffed her mouth with rice.

Yamada:
I will stay at home for a while.

Mika stopped and looked at him.

Yamada:
Since the incident is occurring right now I can’t get out a lot.

Mika:
Uh.

She looked down at the wooden table.

Mika:
I believe that you didn’t do it.

Yamada looked at her.

Mika:
You’re not responsible for her baby. Yamada, you’re not that kind of person to go around and play someone’s heart.

Yamada:
Why do you have so much confident in me?

Mika:
Because… you’re Yamada Ryosuke.

She smiled.

Yamada:
Mika.

He paused and looked down at table.

Yamada:
You know… that I can’t love you right?

She looked him with a sorrow feeling.

Yamada:
Last night, you asked me why couldn’t you have feelings toward me… you wanna know why?

He looked at her.

Yamada:
I’m in love with someone else. My heart has filled with that person’s pictures. I can’t accept you.

Mika placed her chopsticks down on the table.

Mika:
Don’t worry. I won’t love you. We… are nothing but two strangers sharing a house. Let’s make a promise.

She raised her pinky finger in front of Yamada.

Mika:
Let’s promise to never have any feelings toward each other.

Yamada wrapped his pinky finger around hers.

Yamada:
Uh.

-[Next]-

-[A week later]-

T.V Anchor:
… A week earlier, the 20 years old famous actress, Shida, had reported that she’s pregnant with her co-worker, Yamada Ryousuke. However, yesterday, Shida confessed that it was a false alarm…

Mika:
Yokatta.

She smiled at the T.V on the display window.

-[Next]-

Yamada pushed the door and exited JE building with his manager, Akira. Once they saw Yamada’s appearance, reporters rushed toward him.

Reporter #1:
Yamada! Yamada! It is true you have nothing to do with Shida at all? Have you ever dated?

Reporter #2:
Can you explain to us why you and Shida entered a hotel in Osaka?

Reporter #3:
Are you relief to know that you don’t have any responsibility related to Shida?

Yamada tried his best to escape the crowd. Once he reached his car, Yamada got into his car and started the engine. Within seconds, he zoomed away in his car. Akira was the only one left behind. The reporters began to question Akira.

Reporter #4:
Akira. Do you have any comment about this situation?

Akira:
Yamada never had any relationship with Shida-san other than co-worker. We hope Yamada’s fans would continue to love and support him. That’s all.

He entered his car and zoomed away.

-[Next]-

-[SMEJ]-

Takeshi:
Today, I have an assignment for you.

Mika:
Why did he return so soon?

She mumbled.

Takeshi:
Oi! Pay attention!

Mika immediately faced him.

Takeshi:
Were listening to me?

Mika:
Yes, sir.

Takeshi:
What did I said?

Mika:
I have an assignment.

Takeshi:
Good. Aren’t you curious about your assignment?

Mika:
Well…

Takeshi:
Your assignment today is…

-[Next]-

With her back against the wall, Mika stood under the hot spotlight.

Mika:
How-How long do I have to stand here?

Takeshi glanced at his watch.

Takeshi:
Another 2 hours.

Mika:
What?! I stood here for 1 hour already. You tell me, I have to stand here in another 2 hours??

Takeshi:
Uh.

Mika:
<scoff> Why?

Takeshi:
You’ll know later on.

Mika released a long sigh.

-[Next]-

Takeshi handed a paper to Mika.

Mika:
What’s this?

She grabbed the paper.

Takeshi:
That’s your homework.

Mika:
What~

She glanced at the paper.

Mika:
This… this is lyric.

Takeshi:
Yup! Your homework is to memorize the whole song and recite this tomorrow’s morning.

Mika:
The whole song? Are you crazy? How am I supposed to memorize the whole thing by tomorrow?

Takeshi:
I don’t care. Just do it.

Mika looked at the lyric and released a sigh.

-[Next]-

-[SMEJ]-

♪Arigatou to kimi ni iwareru to nandaka setsunai
Sayonara no ato no tokenu mahou awaku horonigai
The fulava ofu rifu

Tomodachi demo koibito demo…♪

Takeshi used the water gun and sprayed water at Mika.

Mika:
What the hell?!

Takeshi:
It’s flavor of life not fulava ofu rifu. Understand?

He corrected.

Mika:
I don’t know English.

Takeshi:
That’s your excuses?

Mika:
Yeah.

Takeshi:
Well, missy. You just earn yourself an extra homework.

Mika:
Huh?

He handed her 2 pieces of papers. Mika grabbed the papers and looked at it.

Mika:
Wha- This- It’s in English. How-

Takeshi:
Yup!

Mika:
<scoff>

She stared at him.

-[Next]-

-[A months later. SMEJ]-

♪I will not make the same mistakes that you did
I will not let myself
Cause my heart so much misery
I will not break the way you did,
You fell so hard
I’ve learned the hard way
To never let it get that far♪

Mika sang with a thick accent.

Takeshi:
Stop!

Mika stop singing.

Takeshi:
<sigh> For a month straight and this is how you sing an foreign song?

Mika:
I told you over and over, I don-

Takeshi:
Then learn!

He screamed.

Mika:
I don’t want to! You know what this is bull! For 3 months straight, I’ve done nothing but running and memorized songs that I have no clue of! I’m sick and tired of this thing you called training. I quit!

She marched out of the room.

Takeshi:
<sigh>

-[Next]-

-[Yamada’s apartment]-

<door shut>

Yamada:
You’re home?

He asked.  Mika didn’t answered and stomped her feet as she entered the house. She passed Yamada without any word.

Yamada:
Whoa! Who dare to make our little monster mad?

-[Next]-

Mika slammed the door as she entered her room. She collapsed on her bed. Yamada marched toward her room.

Yamada:
What happened? Aren’t you supposed to be at your training-

Mika:
I quit!

Yamada:
<sigh> Come out.

Mika:
No!

She shouted.

Yamada:
You want ice cream?

Mika:
What am I? A 6 years old?!

Yamada:
If you don’t come out I’d knock down this door.

Mika:
Do as you wish!

Yamada:
<sigh> I’m not surprised you’d quit. You’re stubborn and impatient. It had only been 3 months and you already giving up. You told me you want revenge but if I were Rina… I would laugh at you and called you a “loser”.

Mika instantly opened the door.

Mika:
Don’t ever say that!

Yamada:
Then proof to me that you’re not one.

Mika looked in his eyes without a word.

-[Next]-

-[SMEJ]-

Mika quietly stepped into Takeshi’s office. She slowly approached him.

Takeshi:
What are you doing here? I thought you quit.

Mika:
<clear throat> I’m sorry.

She spoke with a small voice.

Takeshi:
What was that?

Mika:
<sigh> I’m sorry!

She shouted as she bowed. Takeshi stepped closer to Mika.

Takeshi:
Do you know what’s a true entertainer?

Mika lifted her head up and faced him.

Takeshi:
A singer is an entertainer and an entertainer must know how to entertain the audience. As an entertainer, you have to endure many odds coming your way. That’s the true artist. I don’t train a singer… I train a legend. You wanna know why I made you go through all that? Well, to become a singer is much more than a pretty face and a nice voice. A great singer has to know how to handle sticky situation.

He looked at her.

Takeshi:
Mika, you have a special voice; a voice that no one have. I’m not worrying about your voice but I worry about how you deliver your voice, how you would perform on stage.

Mika:
So all this time you were training me to perform on stage?

Takeshi:
Uh.

Mika:
I got it. From now on, I will follow your ever instructions.

She promised.

-[Next]-

-[Yamada’s car]-

<vibrate> <vibrate>

Yamada:
Hello?

He picked up.

Akira:
Where are you?

Yamada:
I’m on my way there.

Akira:
Uh.

He hangs up.

-[Next]-

Yamada stepped out of his car. He used the remote to set the alarm on.

Rina:
Yamada-kun.

Yamada looked up and saw Rina stood in front of him.

Rina:
What are you doing here?

Akira:
Oi! Yamada!

Both, Yamada and Rina looked at Akira, who’s a few feet away from where they stood.

Yamada:
Excuse me.

He marched toward Akira.

Rina:
<scoff> Who do you think you are, huh?

She mumbled.

-[Next]-

Akira:
Isn’t that Rina Hoshino, that famous singer that Keito is dating?

He asked as they both marched along the hallway

Yamada:
Uh.

Akira:
<sigh> Hope Keito wouldn’t be jealous.

Yamada stopped and turned to Akira.

Yamada:
Huh? What do you mean by that?

Akira:
I thought you knew. Rina played as your girlfriend in the drama.

Yamada:
What?

His eyebrows pulled close together.

Akira:
Why? What’s wrong? Oh! I get it. You don’t want any misunderstanding, huh? <chuckle> Don’t worry. I bet Keito would be fine.

He tabbed on Yamada’s shoulder.

Yamada (voice over):
Mika… I can’t let her found out about this.

-[Next]-

Yamada:
Sorry for making you wait.

He apologized as he entered the room. Once Yamada appeared, Director Takeuchi stood up from his seat.

Director Takeuchi:
<chuckle> It’s fine.

At the moment, Rina entered the room.

Rina:
Gomen ne~ I hope I’m not late.

Director Takeuchi:
Rina, you’re here!

He marched toward Rina.

Rina:
How are you?

Director Takeuchi:
I’m fine. Come, I’ll introduce you to our star of the drama.

He led her to Yamada.

Director Takeuchi:
Yamada, this is Rina.

Rina:
We’ve met.

Director Takeuchi:
Really?

Rina:
Hai. It’s the pleasure to work with you, Yamada-kun. Yoroshiku Onegaishimasu.

She handed her hand out in front of Yamada. Yamada looked at her hand.

Rina (voice over):
What? You’re too good to shake my hand?

Yamada grabbed her hand.

Yamada:
It’s a pleasure to work with you.

He smiled.

To be continue…

4 Responses to “Track #015: Promises”

  1. June 7, 2010 at 7:57 am #

    *will read…*

    • lalalandchannel June 7, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

      Tell me what you think after you read it, ne ^^

  2. Henaliza June 7, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    whyyyyyyyyyyyyyy….why do u let Rina work with Yama-chan in the drama? T__T I hate Rina so much…If I was Mika,I’ll kick her rump to make me feel better…Anyway, keep waiting for the next chapter

    • lalalandchannel June 7, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

      LOL… It’s kinda weird if Mika suddenly appear in a drama. It’s ok. I already finished chapter 16 but I haven’t post it up yet but i will ^^

Leave a Reply

