Track #018: Goodbye yesterday’s sorrow, I’ve found my happiness.

13 Jun

-[A week later]-

-[Yamada’s car]-

<flash back>

Mika:
Do you… Do you still love her?

Yamada:
I don’t know.

Mika:
If you still do then you should be happy for her.

He looked at Mika.

Mika:
My dad once told me if you really love someone you should be happy on whatever she decided. If that person is happy you’re happy.

Yamada:
But I can’t forget it. I can’t-

Mika:
Because you kept running away from it. When you running away from something, you actually carried it on your shoulder. Open your heart and accept the fact and move on.

<flash back>

Yamada (voice over):
Move on? Can I really do that?

<vibrate> <vibrate>

His phone vibrated.

Yamada:
Hello?

He picked up.

Akira:
Hey, just a reminder… You have an interview tomorrow at 9 so please be there on time.

Yamada:
Uh, I got it.

Akira:
Well, then.

Yamada:
Wait!

Akira:
Huh?

Yamada:
Would you mind do a favor for me?

Akira:
Well, I am your manager. What is it?

Yamada:
Would you find a stylist address for me?

Akira:
A stylist? Who?

Yamada took a deep breath.

Yamada:
Atsuko. Atsuko Ishigami.

-[Next]-

-[SMEJ Studio]-

<knock> <knock>

Takeshi:
Come in.

Mika stepped in the studio.

Takeshi:
You’re here. Come. There’s someone I’d like you to meet.

Mika stepped toward where Takeshi and an unknown sat.

Takeshi:
I want you to meet Ken Miyama.

Ken turned around and ejected his hand.

Takeshi:
He’s one of the best songwriter we have here at Sony. He would help you with your debut song.

Mika grabbed his hand and slightly shook it.

Mika:
Nice to meet you.

Ken:
Same here.

He smiled.

Mika:
Um, manager.

Takeshi:
Huh?

Mika:
Do you have a sec? I wanna tell you something.

Takeshi:
Uh.

Mika:
Excuse me.

She smiled to Ken.

-[Next]-

Takeshi and Mika exited the room. Mika shut the door as she stepped out of the room.

Takeshi:
What is it?

Mika:
I was… wondering if I could write my debut song I mean I think I’m pretty good at it.

Takeshi:
You wanna produce the song?

Mika:
Uh.

Takeshi:
Mika, you’re a rookie. I don’t thinking it’s a good idea for you to write your debut song. Maybe after a few songs then I’ll let you do it.

Mika:
But-

Takeshi:
No. You promised me that you’d listen to me if I become your manager and I am your manager so listen to me.

Mika:
<sigh> Ok.

Takeshi:
Good.

He turned around and grabbed the doorknob. He stopped and faced Mika.

Takeshi:
By the way, I found a good place so you should get ready to move out from that place.

He opened the door and entered. Mika stood still outside of the studio.

Mika:
<sigh>

She looked down at her shoes.

-[Next]-

Yamada sat in his car, staring at the house across the street. He took a deep breath and looked at the flower bouquet and the teddy bear beside it.

-[Next]-

<door bell>

Atsuko:
Hai~

A voice came from inside of the house. Yamada held the flower bouquet tightly. Astuko opened the door and saw Yamada stood in front of her. Yamada lifted his head up.

Yamada:
<clear throat> Konbanwa.

Atsuko:
<nervous laugh> Konbanwa.

Hideki(5) ran toward his mother’s side.

Hideki:
Mommy. Who is that?

Atsuko:
This is a friend of mommy. His name is Yamada Ryosuke.

Hideki:
Konnichiwa.

He bowed.

Yamada:
Oh, konnichiwa. Ah!

He looked at the teddy bear he held on his arm.

Yamada:
This is for you.

He handed the teddy bear to Hideki.

Hideki:
Arigatou.

He bowed.

Atsuko:
Hideki, how about you go and do your homework, ok?

Hideki:
Uh.

He turned around and marched into his room.

Atsuko:
Please come in.

-[Next]-

Yamada looked around the house. He saw a picture of Atsuko, her son and her husband hang on the wall. Atsuko entered the living room with a cup of cold water. She placed it on the coffee table in front of Yamada.

Atsuko:
I’m sorry, that’s all we have in the house now.

Yamada:
Oh no, it’s fine.

Atsuko settled down on the chair beside Yamada.

Yamada:
That person…

He pointed at the picture on the wall. Atsuko looked at where he pointed.

Atsuko:
My husband.

Yamada:
Of course <nervous laugh>

He looked down his hands. The awkward atmosphere surrounded the living room.

Atsuko and Yamada:
About the other day-

Atsuko:
Oh! I’m sorry.

Yamada:
No, no.

Atsuko:
What is it you wanna tell me?

Yamada:
I’m sorry about how I acted on that day. I guess… I was shocked and-

Atsuko:
I understand. I would too. You’ve changed a lot, ne.

Yamada:
Me?

Atsuko:
Uh. You’re more mature now.

Yamada:
I see…

The silence returned.

Yamada:
Atsuko…

Atsuko looked at him.

Yamada:
You know… During those 4 years, I questioned myself, “What did I do wrong?” and “Why would leave me?”  And sometime I hated you for leaving me. I guess I was living in the past. I came here to ask you a question…

He took a deep breath.

Yamada:
Are you happy?

Atsuko smiled.

Atsuko:
Yes, I am. I’m very happy.

Yamada smiled.

Yamada:
I’m glad. <nervous laugh>

Atsuko:
Yamada…

He looked into her eyes.

Atsuko:
Are you happy?

Yamada couldn’t answer.

Yamada:
I don’t know. Honestly, It’s really hard for me to forget you. I tried a lot of time to move on and find someone else but I can never do it. Because I feel like I’m betraying you so I don’t know if I found happiness or not.

Atsuko:
Well… You don’t have to feel that way anymore, because you already found your happiness.

Yamada:
Huh?

Atsuko:
The girl with you on that day.

Yamada:
You mean Mika?

Atsuko:
Uh. She’s your happiness.

Yamada looked dumbfounded.

Atsuko:
From a far, I can see how happy you two were. It’s like there’s a bubble protecting you both from harm and there’s only happiness and laughter. Even how far I was, I can feel it. Yamada, you should stop searching far and look at what you already have and don’t let it go.

She smiled.

-[Next]-

Mika stepped in the room and slipped off her shoes. She passed by the kitchen and at the corner of her eye; she saw Yamada sat at the table with a bottle of beer beside him.

Mika:
You’re still awake?

Yamada:
Uh.

He took a sip of the beer. Mika marched toward him.

Mika:
What happened?

Yamada:
<sigh> I visited her house today.

Mika:
Oh, you did?

Yamada:
Uh. I told her everything… about how I felt throughout these years. And somehow I fell lighter.

Mika:
I told you.

Yamada:
For once, you were right<chuckle>

Mika:
Ha ha ha. Very funny. I guess we’d leave with a smile.

She smiled. Yamada instantly looked at her.

Yamada:
What?

Mika:
My manager had found a place for me. Tonight, I’ll be packing my stuff and by tomorrow I’ll be moving to the new apartment.

Yamada stared at her without a word. He looked down.

Yamada:
I guess… It’s goodbye?

Mika:
I guess so.

Yamada:
Uh.

The silence drew in between them.

Mika:
Well, good night, Yamada.

She turned around and disappeared into the dark.

-[Next]-

-[The next morning]-

Yamada stepped out of his room. The atmosphere of the place was completely silence. He faced Mika’s room and opened the door. He peeked his head in. No one was there. Mika’s belongings disappeared. Yamada opened the closet door and there wasn’t a single clothes left behind.

-[Next]-

Yamada marched into the kitchen and saw a breakfast meal had been prepared. There was a not left on the table. He grabbed it and read.

Yamada,
This is the last breakfast I had prepared for you so enjoy.
-Mika-

Yamada pulled chair out and sat down. He grabbed the chopstick and dig into the bowl of rice.

Mika:
How is it?

Her voice appeared in his head. He looked up and there wasn’t anyone but an empty chair.

Yamada:
<nervous laugh> What’s wrong with me?

He stuffed his mouth with rice.

Mika:
Good night, Yamada.

Her voice appeared again. Yamada swallowed the rice down his throat and dropped the chopstick on the table.

Yamada:
Mika… Don’t go. Don’t move out.

He whispered.

Yamada:
Why couldn’t I say that yesterday?

He faced down that table.

-[3 months later]-

-[Hey!Hey!Hey! Music Champ]-

<applause>

Masatoshi:
Our next guest is the new comer-

Hitoshi:
A new comer? When do we have a new comer?

Masatoshi slapped on Hitoshi’s head.

Masatoshi:
Where were you when we had the meeting, huh?

Hitoshi:
I was eating dumpling so I wasn’t listening.

The audience laughed.

-[Back stage]-

Takeshi:
Just relax, ok?

He told Mika.

Mika:
Uh.

-[Stage]-

Masatoshi:
… Please welcome Mikki.

The door opened, Mika stepped out. The audience applauded.

Hitoshi:
Are you mix?

Masatoshi slapped on his head.

Masatoshi:
What kind of question is that?

Hitoshi:
Then why’s her name is Mikki? It’s sounds foreign.

Mika:
It’s my stage name.

She laughed.

Masatoshi:
What’s your real name?

Mika:
Mika.

Hitoshi:
Like Mika Nakashima?

Mika:
<laugh> Hai.

Hitoshi:
Oh~ And you kinda look like her too.

The camera zoomed closer to Mika.

Mika:
Too close.

Everyone in the room laughed.

Masatoshi:
Please introduce yourself.

Mika:
Hai! My name is-

Hitoshi:
Wait, wait!

Mika looked at him.

Hitoshi:
What kind of introduction is that? Are you the new student in school?

Mika:
Oh, sorry.

Hitoshi:
Ok. Take 2!

Mika:
I can make the best ramen ever and I just turned 20… This is Mika Tanaka.

The audience clapped.

Hitoshi:
Isn’t that too cocky to say your ramen is the best? I made good ramen too.

Mika:
Gomen.

She laughed.

Mika:
Cause my aunt owns a ramen shop so-

Masatoshi:
Really? So you were advertising?

Mika:
No, no, no.

She chuckled.

Hitoshi:
Where’s your aunt ramen shop?

Masatoshi slapped on this head.

Masatoshi:
Off topic!

The audience laughed.

Masatoshi:
Now, please introduce your single.

Mika:
Hai! Please enjoy Mika’s… I mean Mikki’s <laughed>

Masatoshi:
She doesn’t even remember her stage name.

Everyone laughed.

Masatoshi:
Take 2!

Mika:
Please enjoy Mikki’s debut song “Puzzel”. Douzo~

-[Next]-

Takeshi:
That was good.

He padded on Mika’s shoulder as they exited the dressing room.

Mika:
Arigatou.

As the two raised their heads, they saw Rina and her manager, Ren stood in front of them. An awkward atmosphere appeared once they see each other.

Ren:
Long time no see, Takeshi.

Mika (voice over):
What! They know each other?

She looked at Takeshi.

Takeshi:
Uh. It had been a long time.

Ren:
She’s your puppet? <laugh> I’m just playing. You know me.

Takeshi:
Uh.

Rina:
How was your performing, Mika?

Mika:
It was ok.

Rina:
Good. What about your debut single, huh? Are you selling any of them?

Ren:
Now, now, Rina. Play nice.

Rina:
Of course. It’s pointless to bully a “nobody”

Mika:
You-

Takeshi stopped her.

Takeshi:
Well… We gotta go now.

Ren:
Sure. Good luck on your debut, Mika. Hopefully it turns out good.

He smiled.

-[Next]-

-[Takeshi’s car]-

Mika:
<scoff> How could that kind of people exist in this world? Why did you stop me earlier? I could’ve run over there and rip her face off!

Takeshi:
And get sue? I don’t think so. You should learn to control your emotion. In this industry, you must learn how to fake a smile.

Mika:
By the way, you and the person, Rina’s manager. Do you guys know each other?

Takeshi looked straight at the road.

Mika:
Fine. Ignore me.

She mumbled. Mika faced the window.

Takeshi:
We were friends.

Mika instantly looked at Takeshi.

Takeshi:
We know each other since the first day of college. Ren and I, we both pursuing for the same major. We graduated together and accepted into the same company, Avex.

Mika:
You used to work for Avex?

Takeshi:
Yeah, for a while.

Mika:
What happened?

Takeshi:
At the time, I was a well known for my talent of arranged and composed music and Ren and I, we were close friends so whenever I arrange a song I’d run to him and asked him for his opinion. One day, as always, I ran to him with a song and asked for his help and he agreed to take a look. And then I jumped on the plane to the states for arranging a foreign singer’s song. When I came back, I presented the song that I created to the company and they like it a lot. Therefore, they picked that song for a singer. A few weeks after the song was released, I got a call from the CEO saying that the song had been accused of stolen from another producer in another company. Max-san said I have 2 options; one, apologized to the other producer or two, quietly leaves the company. I was stubborn and confidence that I created that song before anyone else so I chose to leave Avex. After leaving Avex, Ren confessed that he was the one behind all this; he brought the song to that producer when I was in the states. I tried to tell Max-san but he didn’t believe me. The company over the states refused to use my song the singer and never contact me. I was broke and every company I went to, they rejected my resume. Until I met SMEJ CEO, He took me under his wing. However, ever since then I can’t produce any song.

Mika:
Why?

Takeshi:
I’m not confidence enough.

He stared at the road.

Mika:
Takeshi.

He turned and looked at her.

Mika:
I promise to make you proud.

Takeshi stared at her for a while.

Takeshi:
No, it’s fine. You can be quiet and you’d be fine. That’s already making me proud.

Mika:
Come on! I’m serious!

-[Next]-

-[Mika’s apartment]-

Mika entered her apartment. She collapsed on her bed.

Mika:
<sigh> Sooo tired~

She shut her eyes.

<vibrate> <vibrate> <vibrate>

She opened her eyes and got up. Mika looked everywhere for her cell phone. She looked at the screen and her eyes opened wide.

Mika:
<gasp> May 9th. Yamada’s birthday!!!

To be continue…

8 Responses to “Track #018: Goodbye yesterday’s sorrow, I’ve found my happiness.”

  1. ながれぼし June 13, 2010 at 5:07 am #

    Awww! カワイイ‼ yamada doesn’t want mika to go…
    Ahh!! I wonder what mika is gonna do for his birthday…. Hmmm…..

    I love this fic!! I can’t wait for the next update!! 🙂

    Keep up the good work!!〜☆

    • lalalandchannel June 13, 2010 at 5:12 am #

      Thanks ^^ I”m working on it right now!!! Will update soon!!!

  2. June 13, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! )’:
    i’m NOT the first commenter. DDDD’:

    oh well, kyaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!
    i am sooo excited for the next chapter! (*________*)
    and! and! waaaaaaaaah!!
    yamada is starting to like mika!
    dsalksj alsd fjsk; D’;klsm a/;flmlslkgn . <3333333 !

    • lalalandchannel June 13, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

      LOL.. it’s ok. there’s always new chapter to come.

  3. Henaliza June 13, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    wow..it looks like Mika and Mr.Takeshi are in the same state.They both be betray by their best friends. Ohh..poor Mika and Takeshi.And now I know why Ren is Rina’s manager.They both the same each other-so cruel,betray everyones even their best friends. Hope Mika will defeat her hahaha…Yama-chan has feeling with Mika…woaa…
    Hope to see your next chapter ^^

    • lalalandchannel June 13, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

      Yeah~ so sad for those two. Ren and Rina are like meant to be together. Both vile and selfish.

      • Henaliza June 14, 2010 at 4:29 am #

        hope in the end Ren and Rina will pay for what they did

      • lalalandchannel June 14, 2010 at 6:45 am #

        Well… there’s something call karma~

Leave a Reply

