Track #009: The Unexpected

31 Jul

-[SMEJ Cafeteria]-

The awkward atmosphere lingered between Mika and her mother. Naoko cleared her throat as she held up the warm cup of tea. She took a sip of tea while Mika sat still with her head down.

Naoko:
<clear throat> How’s your father?

Mika:
He’s doing fine.

She avoided her eyes.

Naoko:
How about Jiro and Hideki? Are they doing well?

Mika:
Uh. Jiro and Hideki got married. Jiro has a 5 years old son and he owns a bakery along with Hideki’s help. So I guess they’re doing pretty well.

Naoko smiled.

Naoko:
Yokatte ne~

Mika:
Hai.

Naoko:
You’re doing very well now, hmm? I just came back from Australia and <soft chuckle> everywhere I go I’d see your name. Once I see you, I just know that’s it’s you.

Mika:
Huh? How?

Naoko:
You look like me when I was young.

She smiled.

Mika:
Oh.

She looked down the cold cup of coffee in front of her.

Mika:
How about you?

Naoko:
Huh?

Mika:
How’s your life? Are you doing well?

Naoko:
Me? I’m married and had two children, a boy who’s in college and a 13 years old girl. A year ago, I established a jewelry line. Therefore, I often travel to places.

Mika:
Are you happy?

Naoko:
Uh.

Mika looked at her.

Naoko:
I’m very happy.

Mika:
<chuckle> Really?

Mika stared straight into Naoko’s eyes.

Mika:
<scoff> I was hoping that you would say, “No”. Never mind, I was hoping that… you’re in a very miserable place so that’s why you show up here. You know… lots and lots of time, before I go to sleep… I was hoping that when you left us, you would have an unhappy life… your new husband is a drunk who always came home with a heavy liquor smell on him…

Tears dropped upon her eyes.

Mika:
And you children despite you because of what you did to us. But I guess… I was wrong. You lived a happy life in a comfortable house. Sleep in a warm bed. Eat delicious food and never once think about us and how much we’ve suffered. Do you know what dad did after you left? He had 3 jobs a day to provide for us; he delivers newspapers in the morning, works at the construction site and then delivers food at night. Neither of us three graduated from high school. We have to drop out because we couldn’t afford the tuition fee. Do you know that all those years, since you left… Dad never once thought of remarry? He’s such a fool <sniffle>

She swept the tears on her face.

Mika:
Well, I guess it’s useless to tell someone that had abandoned her family, huh?

She stood up.

Naoko:
Mika…

Mika:
Last time, I didn’t get a chance to say goodbye so…

She bowed.

Mika:
Okasan, sayonara.

-[Next]-

Takeshi rested his back on the chair, staring at the laptop screen.

Takeshi:
Hmm… I wonder…

He pulled himself up and began to type. Takeshi scrolled down the dating page and looked at Ami’s profile picture.

Takeshi:
<chuckle> This brat…

At the moment, Mika entered the room. Takeshi turned his seat around.

Takeshi:
Ah! You’re back?

Mika:
Uh.

Takeshi looked at her.

Takeshi:
Did you just cried?

Mika:
Huh? No.

She shook her head.

Mika:
What are you doing?

She pointed at the laptop screen as she walked toward Takeshi. He swirled the chair around.

Takeshi:
<chuckle> This?

Mika bended down and looked within the screen.

Takeshi:
It’s Ami’s dating profile. Look! Look!!! Look at her profile. Bust- 28, waist- 30 and hip-32. Tch, tch, tch.

He reads.

Takeshi:
And what’s this? “Love to watch drama and shopping” <scoff> Did her mom dropped her when she’s a baby? Who would write that in a dating site? No wonder no man interested in her.

Mika:
Ami-san? She’s really cute and very honest.

Takeshi:
But still… Who would shamelessly wrote their real B-W-H? At least lie about the bust part.

Mika rolled her eyes.

Mika:
If a guy really loves her, he would accept her no matter what. She’s honest, kind and smart. Who wouldn’t date her?

Takeshi:
A man.

Mika:
<scoff> When are you so interesting in Ami’s personal life, huh? By any chance-

Takeshi:
Nope! Not even a percent.

Mika:
Then why, huh? Why are you checking her dating page? How creepy.

Takeshi:
As a Senpai, I have to look after my Kohai, right? Plus, that girl is really useless without a guide so I thought I could help her.

Mika:
<scoff> Fine, fine. Do whatever you want. Just don’t hurt her feelings.

Takeshi:
I know, I know. Anyway… Who was that?

Mika:
Huh?

Takeshi:
That lady who waited for you in the visitor’s lobby.

Mika:
Oh… She’s my mother.

Takeshi:
No wonder… When I first looked at her, she looked very familiar. Now, I know why.

Mika:
Why?

Takeshi:
You both look alike.

Mika:
Really?

Takeshi:
Uh. So what’s wrong? Did something happen at your hometown?

Mika:
No. She came to see me… to apologize… yeah, you can say that.

Takeshi:
Huh? Why?

Mika:
<sigh> She left my family when I was 6.

Takeshi:
Oh… Sorry. Are you ok?

Mika:
Yeah, I’m fine. It’s all in the past now so…

She looked at the music sheet in front of Takeshi.

Mika:
It’s that the song that you’ve been telling me?

Takeshi:
Uh.

He grabbed the music sheet and showed it to Mika.

Takeshi:
I was thinking about making this song into a techno-pop.

Mika:
Hmm…

She looked at the paper.

Mika:
I guess you can do that.

-[Next]-

-[Yamada’s apartment]-

<door shut>

Mika:
Tadaima~

She announced as she entered the house. Mika marched passed the bedroom and heard the shower running in the bathroom. She twisted the doorknob and entered. Mika pulled the shower curtain away. Yamada stood in the shower instantly looked at Mika.

Yamada:
Oh! You’re home?

Mika lifted a smile.

Mika:
Uh. I’m home.

Tears fell down her eyes. Yamada stretched his arms out and wrapped her in his arms.

Yamada:
Daijoubu… Daijoubu…

Mika whimpered.

-[Next]-

Mika lies in Yamada’s arms on the comfortable bed, sharing one blanket; Mika whispered.

Mika:
Yamada…

Yamada:
Hmm?

Mika:
I met my mother today.

Yamada:
Huh? Didn’t she… leave you?

Mika:
Uh. It’s strange, huh? For her to show up like that…

Yamada:
What did you do?

Mika:
We talk… Somehow, it feels very awkward to see her again.

Yamada:
Of course, you two haven’t seen each other for a very long time…

Mika:
No.

She shook her head.

Mika:
Because when I look at her… it reminds me of the days when I foolishly waited for her; hoping that I could see her once again. I used to think if one day… one day when I meet her again I would scream at her but today, I couldn’t do that.

Yamada:
Why?

Mika:
Because I could see the guilt in her eyes.

Yamada:
<chuckle> When did our hot tempered Mika learns to read the atmosphere?

He teased as he runs his hand through her silky brown hair.

Mika:
Do you know that I look exactly like her?

Yamada:
Uso! <chuckle> How could you be pretty as your mom?

Mika:
Hey!

She scolded.

Yamada:
I’m just playing <chuckle>

He wrapped her in his arms.

Yamada:
My Mika is the prettiest girl in this whole entire world.

Mika:
<scoff> Prettier than Atsuko-san and all of those models you’ve dated?

Yamada:
Uh.

He nodded.

Mika:
<chuckle> That’s what I thought.

She smiled.

-[Next]-

-[SMEJ Studio]-

Takeshi leaned back on the chair as he glazed at the laptop screen.

Takeshi:
<soft chuckle> Drama freak.

He looked at Ami’s profile and smiled.

-[Next]-

Takeshi stepped out of the studio and saw Ami sat at the front desk. He clears his throat as he approached her. He placed one arm on the desk and leaned over. Ami looked up.

Ami:
You’re still here?

Takeshi:
Saturday…

Ami:
What about Saturday?

Takeshi:
<clear throat> I know a colleague that’s interested in you.

Ami:
Really?

She stood up.

Takeshi:
Tch tch. Look at you. <sigh> I set up a date for you two so don’t make any plan on Saturday.

A huge smile appeared on Ami’s face.

Ami:
Senpai~ You’re the best! Who is he? Is he a producer? No, no, no… Is he a famous singer? Oh~ That would be awesome to date a famous people.

Takeshi:
<scoff> Just meet him at the near by Chinese restaurant on Saturday and you’ll know.

Ami:
Hai!

-[Next]-

-[SMEJ Studio]-

<knock> <knock>

Mika entered the studio holding 2 plastic cups of coffee in each hand. Takeshi turns around.

Takeshi:
Oh! You brought coffee.

Mika:
Uh. Premium roasted coffee.

She handed him the plastic cup.

Takeshi:
Arigatou.

Mika:
Uh. How are things doing?

Takeshi:
Kenji sent me the file this morning and I’m just arranging the song now.

Mika:
Oh, where is Kenji?

Takeshi:
On a business trip.

Mika:
Huh? Where?

Takeshi:
The States. The people over there asking me to visit and help producing a song but I sent Kenji instead.

Mika:
Hmm, that’s very rare.

Takeshi:
What do you mean by that?

Mika:
I always thought you’re greedy and stingy. There’s no way you’re staying without a benefit.

Takeshi:
Why do you always thinks negative about me?

Mika:
<chuckle> Can you finish it by next week?

Takeshi:
Yup!

Mika:
Ok. So can we meet on Saturday?

Takeshi:
This Saturday?

Mika:
Uh.

Takeshi:
I have plan on this Saturday.

Mika:
<scoff> When did you have plan on the weekend?

Takeshi:
Hey! I’m human too.

Mika:
Who is she?

Takeshi looked at Mika.

Takeshi:
None of your business.

Mika:
Whoa~ It’s a he?

Takeshi:
Tch. Do I look like that type?

Mika:
<chuckle> Then who is she?

Takeshi:
Someone.

Mika:
Do I know her?

Takeshi:
Hmm… Yeah.

Mika:
Oh my~ is it that actress? No, no, no that model?

Takeshi turned around.

Takeshi:
Stop making stupid guesses.

Mika:
Then who is it?

Takeshi:
Do you really wanna know?

Mika:
Uh.

She nodded. Takeshi leaned toward and whispered.

Takeshi:
It’s a secret.

Mika glared at him.

Mika:
You’re so lame! Just tell me!

Takeshi:
You already massacre my life just leave my personal life out the way.

Mika:
How am I massacring your life?

Takeshi:
You and your personal life are really making me older. I even have white hairs!

He showed her his hair with a few white hairs.

Takeshi:
I’m only 37 but I already have white hairs.

Mika:
It’s just a few~ Just tell me.

Takeshi:
You’ll find out sooner or later.

Mika sat back and pouted.

-[Next]-

<beep> <beep> <beep>

Yamada turned to nightstand and slapped the big button on top of the alarm clock.  He turned around and saw the empty space beside him.

<cling>

-[Next]-

Yamada stepped out of the bedroom and headed toward the kitchen where all the sounds come from. He stopped and saw Mika with her back against him, standing at the stove, placing the pan on the stove. He peaked a smile. Yamada approached Mika and wrapped his arms around her waist.

Mika:
Ah! You’re up?

Yamada:
Uh.

He whispered.

Mika:
Then sit down. Breakfast is almost done.

Yamada:
Just a moment.

He held her tight.

Mika:
<chuckle> Breakfast won’t be done if you keep holding me.

Yamada:
Then I won’t eat breakfast.

Mika:
<chuckle> Seriously.

Yamada:
Ok, ok.

He released her.

Yamada:
What are you gonna do today?

Mika:
Well, I have nothing to do this morning but I have a T.V appearance this evening.

Yamada:
T.V Appearance?

Mika:
Uh, I’m a guest for this variety T.V show.

Yamada:
Ah, sou ne. Since you have the whole morning to yourself, what do you plan to do?

Mika:
Hmm… Hang around.

Yamada:
Huh? Where?

Mika turned around.

Mika:
It’s a secret.

She smiled.

-[Next]-

-[Chinese Restaurant]-

<bell chime>

Takeshi entered the restaurant.

Waitress:
Do you have reservation?

Takeshi:
Uh.

He turned his head and saw Ami sat on the table next to the glass window; waiting patiently. She fixed her attire and took a deep breath.

Ami:
Calm down, calm down. But… what if it’s a lowlife pervert? <scoff> If that greedy bastard introduce me to a lowlife I swear…

Takeshi:
Ano… Are you Ami Ito?

Ami (Thinking):
It’s him! It’s him! What should I do? Act cool! Act cool!

Ami:
Hai…

She answered as she turned around.

Ami:
I’m Ami- <gasp> Takeshi!!

She jumped.

Ami:
What are you doing here?

Takeshi pulled the chair out and sat across Ami. Ami looked around.

Ami:
Where is he?

Takeshi:
Who?

Ami:
Senpai! Don’t play around. Where’s my date?

Takeshi:
<chuckle> You’re looking at him.

Ami:
Wh-wh-what? Yo-you’re my date?

She pointed her finger at him. Takeshi smiled.

Takeshi:
Uh.

-[Next]-

Ami furiously exited the restaurant.

Takeshi:
Ami! Wait!

He followed. Ami ignored him and continued to march. Takeshi ran toward her and grabbed her arm.

Takeshi:
Wait a minute!

Ami:
What is this, huh?

Takeshi:
You want a date right? So I’ll be your date?

Ami:
Huh?

Takeshi:
Why? Don’t you always want a date with a tall and rich guy like in those dramas you’ve watched-

Ami slapped him. The public turned their attention to the two.

Ami:
Do I look that desperate to you?

Takeshi:
Ami-

Ami:
Sure! I’m turning 31 soon and yet never been on a date nor have any relationship with anyone. I’m a workaholic and a drama freak. I spent my free time doing nothing but watching drama. Does that make me a desperate virgin?!

Takeshi flinched.

Takeshi:
Ano…

Ami:
Shut up! Don’t answer that question you greedy bastard!

She kicked him on his leg.

Takeshi:
Itte!

He fell down in pain as Ami departed.

Takeshi:
Ami!

Ami turned around.

Takeshi:
How could you leave an injured person here?!

Ami:
You deserve it!

She stuck her tongue out and continued to walk.

Takeshi:
<chuckle> This girl <chuckle> You seriously leaving me here?!

He shouted.

-[Next]-

-[Music Store]-

<bell chime>

Mika entered wearing a black cap. She browsed around the “New Release” section and stopped at her own new single album.

Mika:
<soft chuckle> It’s here.

Keito:
Mika?

Mika turned around and saw Keito stood behind her. Mika’s eyes were amazed.

Mika:
Kei-Keito…

To be continue…

8 Responses to “Track #009: The Unexpected”

  1. ながれぼし July 31, 2010 at 7:48 am #

    Ahh you’ve done it again! Mika’s mom… >.< she's had the guts to see her after what she did..I was crying when I read mika explained to her mom about her life when she left…takeshi..hehehe and ami… Ah! Keito!! I wonder what's going to happen next.. Well keep up the awesomeness 🙂

    〜ながれぼしより(^O^☆♪

    • Dorky Bunnii July 31, 2010 at 8:32 am #

      Aww.. thanks ^^ all I can tel you that… the biggest event will occur in the next chapter ^^ please look forward to that ^-^

      • ながれぼし July 31, 2010 at 8:56 am #

        Okie dokie! I can’t wait~ gambatte ne~

        ながれぼしより(^-^)

      • Dorky Bunnii July 31, 2010 at 9:08 am #

        はい!はい! ^-^

  2. July 31, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!
    i’m not first!
    THIS IS SOOO UNFAIR! DDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD’:
    ever since you’ve tweeted the “i’m working on ch.9 right now”, i always kept on checking everyday! after a few minutes i would refresh the page again ‘coz maybe you’re going to update! but no.. there was NO update! TToTT
    and when i’m not here, that’s the time you’ll update!
    gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!!
    LIFE IS SO “UN”FAIR!!
    … okay, soory for ranting. (-_____-“)

    OMG~
    seriously, the mom and daughter made me teary! >.<
    what a bad mother she is! tssk~

    awwwwwwww~
    i just love it when yamada is so sweet to yamada!

    wahahahahahaa! poor takeshi~! LMAO.

    O.M.G.~
    KEITO'S HERE AGAIN!!
    PLEASE UPDATE SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOON!

    • Dorky Bunnii July 31, 2010 at 11:13 am #

      I’M SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO SORRY!!! I had a computer break down a few days ago and just got it fixed today so I typed my ass off TT^TT Please forgive me >~<

  3. yamamoto yien July 31, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    woaaaaaah!. Ryosuke’s so sweeet. ❤ ❤ ❤

    LOL at Ami and Takeshi :)) pwahahahhaha~
    btw. what's with Keito? o.o~

    *nice chapter again!. keep up^^~

    • Dorky Bunnii July 31, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

      LOL OMG~ you will find out ^^ I will release the title of the new chapter ^^

Leave a Reply

